A Fresh View: ADOCH Preview

ADOCH Tent

Hello, Brown hopefuls! My name is Kimberly Truong and I am the awkward (but utterly thrilled) first-year behind A Fresh View. With that big question mark hovering over where you’ll be spending the next four years of your life, rest assured that this freshman will tell you her experience as she stumbles through the wonderful world of Brown.

Seeing the big white tent on the Main Green makes me a little misty-eyed. For those of you heading to Brown for ADOCH (A Day on College Hill), this is when the nervous, awkward introductions with the people you might be with for the next four years will begin. The ice cream makes it better. (I promise– just make sure to get mint chocolate chip as an easy conversation-starter.)

Truthfully though, most of the close friends I have right now I didn’t meet through ADOCH. (It’s kind of crazy to think you’ll become best friends with someone in 2 and a half days.) But it’s a nice feeling when someone recognizes me from ADOCH and we say hi to each other on the way to class.

I also remember feeling self-conscious because everyone was sharing the schools they were deciding on alongside Brown. In retrospect, it was better to enjoy the moment than constantly measuring your worth against other people which was what I did (Was my acceptance a mistake? Do I really deserve to be here?). Especially since there were a ton of activities planned every hour up to 2 am for two days, thoughts like that kept me from having as much fun as I’d like.

I was also easily frustrated when I didn’t know my way around. Funny story is, I was being hosted in Hope College (which is right on the Main Green) and I didn’t know how to get back…. from the Main Green.

All in all, there’s no pressure to meet your best friends at ADOCH or know your way on the first day. But I’m sure what the committee has planned and the people you’ll meet here will make you consider Brown (once you get past the I-still-can’t-believe-it! stage). I can’t wait for you ‘18ers to experience the general confusion and delight that is ADOCH. Congrats again!

Any questions or suggestions for my next post? Please send them my way at kimberly_truong@brown.edu. I’m happy to answer and heed to all of them!

 

Leave a Reply

