Snapshots of Brown: Favorites

Starr Plaza

It is often said that a picture is worth a thousand words. While that may be true, there is also a lot of value in the story behind the picture. Let Snapshots of Brown with Corrine Szczesny introduce you to the majestic college campus and deep-rooted traditions of Brown University.

Continuing on in my farewell blogs to Brown, I thought I would highlight my third year on campus.  Although I spent a good amount of time studying, I did find some time to take in all that Brown and Providence has to offer.  I made a point of searching out unique places to eat, study, and just enjoy College Hill.

One of my favorite places to eat during my third year at Brown was a campus eatery called the Gate.  The Gate offered some of the best food I have had here at Brown.  From handmade pizzas and panini to hearty pasta and chicken dishes, I spent a good deal of time enjoying those and other food items there.  This past year, the Gate closed, and a new eatery, Andrews Commons opened. Andrews Commons has a similar menu to the Gate, except it offers more variety. It has quickly become one of my favorite places on campus.  Off campus, the local crepe shop, La Creperie, is one of my favorites.  Located at 82 Fones Alley, off of Thayer Street, it has the best dessert crepes I have ever tasted.

I found that studying took on a new meaning in my junior year at Brown.  Suddenly I was looking for a quiet, well-lit place with as little disruption as possible. Up until my junior year, I typically studied in my dorm room, but that isn’t always the quietest place on campus, and it can be easy to get distracted.  Luckily, there are so many places on campus that are conducive to studying.  Libraries are great places to study; I prefer studying at the Rock, but I know a lot of people who prefer the SciLi. I also enjoy studying at the Ratty; I try to go at “weird” times of the day when it will be less crowded. A perk of studying at the Ratty is that you have unlimited access to food while you work.

When I was caught up on homework, blogs, and other academic and social obligations, I looked for a quiet place to relax.  My junior year, I lived in Hegeman Hall, a dorm located on Simmons Quad. To me, Simmons Quad is one of the most beautiful outdoor areas on campus, and I spent most of my afternoons relaxing on the quad.  Another, less well-known outdoor area is Starr Plaza.  Nestled behind the Watson Institute, Starr Plaza is a lovely green area bordered by bamboo. It is easily one of the most peaceful places on campus.

My third year at Brown went by very quickly, and finding my favorite places on campus really helped make the university feel more and more like home.

Email me your suggestions or any questions you have about life at Brown at corrine_szczesny@brown.edu.

Leave a Reply

