Music to My Ears: WEEKEND CONCERTS!

12042430296_5df98f7941_o

What’s good y’all!? My name is Deionte Appling, sophomore class of 2016 here at Brown, and I’m a music and psychology concentrator. Alongside Eimi, I write for the Music to My Ears column for the Bruin Club Prospective Blog. Fun Facts: I sing in chorus, I occasionally perform operas with Brown Opera Productions, and I love Robert Plant! Music to My Ears is the prospective student’s gateway to the life of music at Brown, and I’ll attempt to show you the ins and outs of our music department to the best of my knowledge!

This upcoming weekend (April 25-27) is a big weekend for music here. For starters, it marks the beginning of the end of the semester for music groups on campus, which is actually a great thing because they put on exciting concerts with wonderful music.  On Friday the 25th, the Brown University Orchestra is scheduled to perform Brahms’s Academic Festival Overture, Op. 80, Shastakovich’s Violin Concerto, Op. 99, which will be played by the great violinist Matthew Slesinski ’16.  It will also play one of my favourite symphonies, Tchaikovsky’s “Pathetique”, Symphony #6 in B minor, Op. 74.  One thing that took me some time to realise is how renowned our orchestra is to the school and the Providence community.  Beyond their impeccable sound quality and talent abilities, the demand for their playing speaks for itself.  I’ve personally never been to an orchestra concert that wasn’t packed from front to back and still had people in the lobby listening as best as they can.

On the following Saturday night there will be two events.  In the afternoon, our Javanese gamelan group Sekar Setaman will perform with guest performers Jessika Kenney and Penni Candra Rini.  For those of you that are unfamiliar with a gamelan ensemble, it is traditional music of Indonesian, particularly from the islands of Java and Bali.  What’s unique about gamelan is more so the instruments that are used to form the ensemble, which consists (for the most part) gongs, bronze metallophones, xylophones, drums, a flute, singers, and a bowed string instrument.

Later that evening, Brown’s Jazz Band, which is arguably the best performance group on campus (!!!), is performing their senior and final concert.  This concert is meant to honour the seniors in Jazz Band and will highlight them by displaying their arrangements and compositions.  This is also a cool way to see how dynamic these musicians are.

If only I had all the time in the world as we approach Reading Period and Finals Period, I would attend it all (and definitely both orchestra concerts).  But of course that is also plaguing this campus at the same time! But being involved in the such an intimate department and having friends in pretty much every music group, I’ll definitely be there in spirit!

For those of you tickled by curiosity, would like to express your love for me, or simply want to chat about any and all things music, please feel free to email your questions or comments to Deionte_Appling@brown.edu and I’ll get back ‘atcha ASAP!

 

If it ain’t Baroque… Let it play!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

