He, She, and Phe: Dorm Life at Brown: Housing Lottery Part 2

BrownUniversity-PerkinsHall

Brianna’s Take:

Dorm life: two words that inspire excitement and fear in the hearts of many incoming freshman. I’m Brianna Lambert, a first year student and one of the writers behind He, She and Phe: Dorm Life at Brown. In this column I’ll share all of the good, bad, funny, and painfully awkward things that come along with living in a dorm.

Numbers were assigned, tears were shed, and rooms were chosen. The housing lottery is now officially over! A lot of my friends got pretty good numbers in the lottery, so they ended up in the most sought after sophomore dorms. My group, unfortunately, did not fair so well. Our number was so low that we were on the last page of the listed lottery numbers.

Needless to say we ended up in the sophomore dorm that nobody wanted – Perkins. The problem with Perkins isn’t the building itself. I’ve heard that it is a decent building, and the rooms are pretty standard. I say “I’ve heard” because I haven’t seen Perkins at all because it is too far away. And when I say far, I mean FAR. Perkins is so removed from everything else on campus that people have to add in an extra 10-15 minutes walking time in order to get anywhere else on campus.

Because of it’s not so prime location, Perkins does foster a very tight knit community between its residents, which is one trait that I really wanted my future dorm to have. Plus, living so far away will make me get more exercise. Maybe Perkins won’t be so bad after all.

Chelsea’s Take:

Hey there! I’m Chelsea Phan, one of the first-year students behind He, She, and Phe: Dorm Life at Brown. I’ll be telling you all about the home away from home!

*Drumrolls* And the result is: SPRING WEEKEND IS OVER. Thank goodness.

Actually, just kidding. It’s not. Okay, let’s try that again.

*Drumrolls* And the result is… MINDEN HALL!

A couple weeks ago, Brianna and I talked briefly about the Housing Lottery. Now that phase is officially over! Whew! I have to admit, that was one of the most intense three minutes of my life. My group had a pretty decent lottery number, so we were confident that we would get our first choices, which were two singles in different locations. Looking at the groups before us, we saw that there were eight groups of one, and there were eleven single rooms available for the places we wanted. That’s why I was pretty shocked that there were no singles left where we wanted to reside. It shouldn’t have surprised me though. Singles go out fast. And I also realized later that I didn’t take into account the possibility that there could also be singles in groups larger than one. Fortunately though, there were doubles open for our second-choice, Minden. It used to be a hotel, so that’s pretty cool, right? The rooms are a good size, and the location is pretty great. Right by Barus & Holley (where I spend most of my life as an engineer) and close enough to the Main Green.

The Housing Lottery did not go as smoothly for some others though. On the day of the lottery, one of my friends considered switching out his roommate with someone else in his group to get a room in a residential hall that his roommate was against. The roommate found out, and an interesting skirmish occurred. Fortunately though, my friend was only kidding. Still, that’s an emotional betrayal. Not cool. However, an actual betrayal did occur for my current roommate. Her group leader placed herself somewhere that wasn’t Perkins and sent everyone else to Perkins. What’s the deal with this Perkins place? Well, most people try to avoid it because it’s so far from the main campus. My poor roommate already decided that she was going to start a diary devoted to life at Perkins. Maybe she’ll find her true love there, as the legends say. She’ll be alright.

Having gone through the Lottery, I definitely do see why most people try to avoid it (and there are several ways to do so). It’s great if you have a good number, but if you don’t… you don’t have very many options.

If you have any questions, comments, or suggestions for future posts, please feel free to email either Brianna or Chelsea at brianna_lambert@brown.edu or bao-han_phan@brown.edu.

Leave a Reply

