Benchpress: A Weekend in the Life

1902000_10152078214263229_137567723_n

Welcome to Bench Press! My name is Lainie Rowland and I’m the starting quarterback on the football team, like to run marathons during my free time, and am currently in the process of qualifying for the Rio Olympics as a competitive ping pong player. I’m kidding, of course, but I do love sports and Brown, so I’m really excited to write about a combination of the two this year.

First off, I would be remiss if I did not begin by congratulating to the Brown University Class of 2018. Congrats! You did it! You can breathe again! (Side note – breathing is really great, especially in the context of sports). Now it’s my turn – it’s Brown’s turn – to court YOU. We believe that you will thrive here. Attending Brown is truly a symbiotic relationship; Brown changes you for the better and you change Brown for the better. If that sounds good to you, then great, click the commit button right now. If you need a little more convincing, or if you’re just scared to take that such a huge life step with one small click, let me tell you about how awesome sports and athletics are here and then you won’t be able to refuse.

Instead of me doing the talking today, I’m going to let Brown do the talking. I am literally just going to go through the schedule of this past weekend to prove to you how cool it is here and how easy it is to get in shape/have fun/support your sports teams/compete in division 1 athletics (disclaimer – this isn’t necessarily “easy,” props to student athletes).

SO. Let’s start with our varsity sports schedule. In my opinion, the highlight of this weekend was Women’s Crew’s win over Harvard and Michigan. In one of their two home meets of the year, the Bears out-rowed its competitors on a beautiful spring afternoon amid lots of cheering and school spirit.

Next, FREE bowling from the recreation department. Brown sponsored a free bowling tournament for students this weekend, complete with prizes, pizza, blacklights, bowling shoes, transportation, and fun all around. I couldn’t make it to this event, but I did get an email about an upcoming whitewater rafting trip that they’re subsidizing. How could you say no to that?

Volunteerism and athletics also intersected a lot this weekend (this is not out of the usual – Brown students are passionate about using their talents to change the world). I’m sure most people know about Relay for Life. Brown’s Relay for Life included workshops and performances from many of Brown’s dance companies, the Salsa club, and the Swing Club. There was a glow stick rave and late night games. On the Main Green Friday, the Sexual Health Education and Empowerment Council brought us Move for Respect. They combined empowerment with fun workouts and free Respect headbands and healthy RUNA tea. On one of the first days of blue skies and warmer temperatures, students flocked to the booth and had a great time moving for a cause. Also, Beyoncé was the picture on the Facebook event page. You cannot say no to Beyoncé.

There’s a lot more that I could talk about. There was the Native American Spring Thaw powwow with dancers performing from across the country, the Stand Up Against Sexual Assault March, and the home games from baseball and softball among other teams. I’m sure there’s a lot more, but hopefully you don’t need anymore convincing.

Questions? Comments? Concerns? Email lainie_rowland@brown.edu and I’ll get back to you! 

 

Leave a Reply

