Snapshots of Brown: The Beginning of the End

Van Wickle Gates

It is often said that a picture is worth a thousand words. While that may be true, there is also a lot of value in the story behind the picture. Let Snapshots of Brown with Corrine Szczesny introduce you to the majestic college campus and deep-rooted traditions of Brown University.

As my time here at Brown begins to draw to a close, I thought that I would share some of the things I have learned about this extraordinary establishment.  Each week, for the rest of the semester, I will strive to educate you on what makes Brown so wonderful and unique.  Call it my homage to the place I have called home for the past four years. I know that acceptance letters were recently sent out (congratulations Class of 2018!), so I thought I would start out by talking a little about what I learned my freshman year at Brown.

So, what should you expect during your freshman year? From moving in to orientation,  your first few days on campus will be exciting, but kind of scary.  Getting to know your roommate and the other people in your dorm is an important part of the first few weeks. I still remember conversations with some of the people in my dorm about who would replace Michael on The Office (I’m not sure if this should make me feel old, but it kind of does). Getting to know your way around campus is important too. Before my first day of classes, I made sure that I knew where all the classrooms where, so that I would not get lost on campus. You will see people walking around with maps for the first few days, so do not be embarrassed if you find yourself consulting a map before walking to class. You will at times feel overwhelmed, but just remember to take it all in and enjoy. Believe me, you will look back your senior year and wonder how four years went by so quickly.

As your first year on campus goes on, you will begin learning plenty of College Hill nuances. You will discover the best times to grab a quick bite at the different dining halls and the shortcuts that shave a few minutes off of your commute to class (this means you can totally get an extra five minutes of sleep). One thing I recommend is not to be afraid of joining on-campus activities. Find clubs and activities that excite you.   Read Morning Mail and go to the Activities Fair at the beginning of the semester. Even as a senior, I have discovered so many neat groups that exist on campus that I wish I joined sooner.  Do not be afraid to ask questions or directions; remember that Brown students are all really friendly and that we all remember being new to campus.

Looking back at the past four years, I realize just how much I have learned. It is really incredible to think that my journey at Brown is about to end. I hope that this blog, and the Bruin Club Blog in general, have helped show what a great college experience you can have at Brown.

Email me your suggestions or any questions you have about life at Brown at corrine_szczesny@brown.edu.

Leave a Reply

