He, She, and Phe: Dorm Life at Brown: Well that was Weird…

X2-balcony-jump_1240961607

Brianna’s Take: 

Dorm life: two words that inspire excitement and fear in the hearts of many incoming freshman. I’m Brianna Lambert, a first year student and one of the writers behind He, She and Phe: Dorm Life at Brown. In this column I’ll share all of the good, bad, funny, and painfully awkward things that come along with living in a dorm.

First off I would like to congratulate each and every one of you who was admitted to Brown! You’ll have some hard decisions to make in the next month or so, but no matter where you end up (*cough…Brown…cough*) I’m sure you’ll thrive.

Now on to this week’s topic. Putting 80 or more young adults with newfound freedom and not the best judgment skills together in one place is a recipe for some very strange happenings. I’ve experienced my fair share of weird occurrences in the short time that I’ve lived in a dorm, but there is one story that I’ll probably remember for the rest of my life.

The story starts off pretty normally, with me doing work in the study lounge on the second floor of my building. A guy who lives on the third floor came into the lounge I was in and asked if he could open the window. He explained to me that his ID was on the balcony outside of the window because he was trying to throw it outside to a friend. Now this seems like a simple fix – open the window, climb out onto the balcony, and grab the idea. The only problem was that the second floor study lounge window is permanently bolted closed to prevent people from doing things like that. After I told him this, he sighed and said that now he would have to jump down from the third floor window to the balcony.  I laughed, thinking that he was joking.

About thirty seconds later, I heard a loud thud from outside of the window. That guy had actually jumped down onto the balcony! I was freaking out to say the least, especially because this kid obviously had no clue as to how he would get off of the balcony. My friends and I tried to help him by opening the window of the room next to us, but it was too far of a distance for him to jump. Eventually, he just climbed from the balcony to ground level. How he did that I don’t know, but I do know that that was one of the oddest experiences I have had so far at Brown.

-Brianna

00u0u_eo7FQL10sTD_600x450-1

Hey there! I’m Chelsea Phan, one of the first-year students behind He, She, and Phe: Dorm Life at Brown. I’ll be telling you all about the home away from home!

Interesting things happen in the dorms all the time. Marriage proposals (both real and fake), wall climbing competitions, trouble with ResLife (for constructing a pulley system that carries food from the kitchen to a room), and mini fashion shows that feature your clothes on the member of the opposite sex are a few examples. Perhaps the one that has stood out to me the most was the day that we welcomed the Gulbransen organ to our hall.

It was a chilly Wednesday night when the members of the organ retrieval team rounded up fellow dorm mates for a mission that required ultimate strength.

“We need you to help make our hall the coolest hall ever!” they say.

“Wait, what?”

“We got an organ! But it’s much too heavy for four people to carry.”

Moved by this plea, the brave warriors descended the stairs and exited the dorm to be greeted by a U-Haul truck and of course, the organ.

They were certainly in awe, but this was no time to stop and stare.

The lot of warriors had to quickly develop a strategy to bring the organ onto the elevator and into the proper room.

It took admirable force, endurance, and cooperation, but they did succeed.

For the remainder of the night, fellow unit mates paid their homage to the organ that was now ours.

Long live the organ and the awesomeness of dorm life at Brown.

-Chelsea

If you have any questions, comments, or suggestions for future posts, please feel free to email either Brianna or Chelsea at brianna_lambert@brown.edu or bao-han_phan@brown.edu.

Leave a Reply

