A Fresh View: Navigating Brown IV

ADOCH 2014 Logo_0
Another shameless plug to promote ADOCH because I’ll be volunteering!

Hello, Brown hopefuls! My name is Kimberly Truong and I am the awkward (but utterly thrilled) first-year behind A Fresh View. With that big question mark hovering over where you’ll be spending the next four years of your life, rest assured that this freshman will tell you her experience as she stumbles through the wonderful world of Brown.

There are some things freshmen will probably never understand. One thing is how unpredictable Providence weather can be, especially in the past couple of days; it was bitterly cold one day; now, it’s climbing into the 60s and I already tossed away my heavy sweater for a light cardigan. (I might regret my decision to take a 4-6pm class though if this warm weather continues.)

Yet, all of us freshmen probably have had (or will have) the crystallizing moment when we finally realized we’ve settled in and acclimated to Brown’s routines and quirks. That moment came to me this weekend. My friend from high school was visiting. There I was, pointing her to a parking space despite the limited availability on campus, recommending the signature spicywith at Jo’s, introducing her to my diverse group of friends, and dragging her along to a party at some location on campus unbeknownst to her. I had become privy to Brown’s state of affairs. First semester, I grew certain that awkward beginnings made for only dubious changes I thought would never come. I rejected almost all opportunities to advise future freshmen except for this blog column (not that I don’t like you guys but never saw myself as someone competent to give advice and to some extent, be an adequate role model.)

But here I am, functioning in an environment that has been so different to the one I left back home.

So for those who have already been accepted ED or will be accepted in the next couple of weeks, don’t be nervous for the next chapter of your life.  Things eventually will pick up. And come to ADOCH and maybe I’ll offer you some tips on how to navigate this bubble I’ve come to learn—and love.

This marks the fourth post of the “Navigating Brown” series in which I divulge my own experiences and growth in direct encounter with Brown’s values and environment.

Any questions or suggestions for my next post? Please send them my way at  kimberly_truong@brown.edu. I’m happy to answer and heed to all of them!

Leave a Reply

