Music to My Ears: Brown’s 250th Kickoff!

Celebration!

What’s good y’all!? My name is Deionte Appling, sophomore class of 2016 here at Brown, and I’m a music and psychology concentrator. Alongside Eimi, I write for the Music to My Ears column for the Bruin Club Prospective Blog. Fun Facts: I sing in chorus, I occasionally perform operas with Brown Opera Productions, and I love Robert Plant! Music to My Ears is the prospective student’s gateway to the life of music at Brown, and I’ll attempt to show you the ins and outs of our music department to the best of my knowledge!

Brown’s 250+ Celebration is kicking off this weekend to signify the weekend that Brown was founded and the last 250 years that this has been the best school in the world!  As a result, there are MANY performances of every type occurring this weekend.  For starters, on Friday night, Wind Symphony held a concert performing works by various Brunonian alumnus. Also on Friday night is a HUGE a Capella concert, featuring the Higher Keys, Jockapella, Brown Derbies, Shades of Brown, Jaberwocks, Arrr!!!, Disney a Capella, Word!, and the Chattertocks. I personally attended this concert and it goes without saying that every group was amazing in their own respective right.  It was fun, and I also took a picture with President CPax!!!!

President CPax, Celina (From Albania to Zimbabwe blogger) and me!
President CPax, Celina (From Albania to Zimbabwe blogger) and me!

There are also dance performances from groups such as Mezcla, imPulse,  What’s on Tap?, Baadmash, Amira Belly Dance, Fusion, and Lion Dance Team, Divine Rhythm, and Attitude.  There is definitely a wide array of diverse options to satisfy many palettes.

There are also performances by student music groups such as Brown University Gilbert & Sullivan (BUGS) and Musical Forum. BUGS, for example, is performing a mash-up of multiple scenes from different musicals using some of the greatest stage performers on campus.  It will be really exciting!

For those of you tickled by curiosity, would like to express your love for me, or simply want to chat about any and all things music, please feel free to email your questions or comments to Deionte_Appling@brown.edu and I’ll get back ‘atcha ASAP!

If it ain’t Baroque… Let it play!

Leave a Reply

