Bench Press: Spring has (almost) sprung

images

Welcome to Bench Press! My name is Lainie Rowland and I’m the starting quarterback on the football team, like to run marathons during my free time, and am currently in the process of qualifying for the Rio Olympics as a competitive ping pong player. I’m kidding, of course, but I do love sports and Brown, so I’m really excited to write about a combination of the two this year. 

Although the Providence air is still nippy and below freezing temperatures still prevail most days, the grass has begun to peek through the green and Spring Break is just around the corner (3 weeks is close enough). This means a few things. First is the beginning of spring sports seasons and the end of winter sports. That’s a win-win for us, because that means that not only do we get to follow our teams as they vie for playoff spots and compete against the top teams in the Ivy League and the Northeast, but we also get to start thinking about warmer, outdoor sports like baseball and lacrosse. As entertaining as hockey and basketball might be, I’ve started to feel claustrophobic caught indoors all the time. I would be lying if I said I don’t get a little mad when I walk outside and it’s snowing AGAIN.

Spring also means that intramural sports come back in their full glory. Winter intramurals are highlighted by the famously comical inner tube water polo. Spring means the return of classics like soccer, flag football and softball. And now that I’ve actually made and developed friendships after a semester on College Hill, I imagine these games will be even more fun, if that’s possible. Also, canoe water polo should clearly be the next intramural sport that Brown needs to offer.

Canoe Polo is a Rough Time

Lastly, Spring means the return of casual exercise. The return of frisbee on the main green, slack lines hung up between trees and, for the ambitious among us, pleasant jogs through Providence’s winding streets. These beautiful days are the cherry on top of a great spring semester and I, for one, know that I’m counting down the days until the sun shines again.

Questions? Comments? Concerns? Need a pen pal? Shoot me an email at lainie_rowland@brown.edu. And I’m not just saying that, I would genuinely love to hear from you!

Leave a Reply

