He, She, and Phe: Dorm Life at Brown: Pembroke v. Keeney

Fotor0223192125

Dorm life: two words that inspire excitement and fear in the hearts of many incoming freshman. I’m Brianna Lambert, a first year student and one of the writers behind He, She and Phe: Dorm Life at Brown. In this column I’ll share all of the good, bad, funny, and painfully awkward things that come along with living in a dorm.

Hey everyone! Before I get started with this week’s topic I have to tell you that the format of this column will change because we’ve added a new writer! Instead of just hearing my perspective on living in a dorm you’ll be able to get another unique view on the subject.  It’s especially exciting because now you get to here about the two sides of campus where freshman live: Pembroke (where I live) and Keeney (where Chelsea, the new writer, lives), which brings me to the topic for this post.

Pembroke Campus (pictured on the right)

Located on the northern most side of Brown’s campus, Pembroke is home to a large portion of the freshman class. In terms of buildings, first years live in either Miller (my home), Andrews, Metcalf, Emery-Woolley, or Morriss-Champlin.  Miller, Andrews, and Metcalf (aka MAM), are known for being the nicest freshman dorms on campus. Emery-Woolley and Morriss-Champlin, on the other hand, are your typical first year dorms. The closest dining hall is the Vdub, which is about a minute walk from MAM, and it’s physically connected to Em-Wooll and Mo-Champ.

One of the great things about living on Pembroke is the proximity to Thayer Street, which is home to many great restaurants, clothing stores, and even a small movie theater. A drawback, however, is Pembroke’s distance from the main green, which relative to other, larger schools really isn’t that much but to Brown students is akin to travelling to Siberia.

The overall atmosphere of Pembroke is, for lack of a better term, chill. It isn’t uncommon to see people lying on the grass and reading or even sleeping, weather permitting.  Of course, being a Pembroke kid I’m a tad biased when I say this but I fully believe that Pembroke is the place to be.

Now for Chelsea’s perspective…

Hey there! I’m Chelsea Phan, one of the first-year students behind He, She, and Phe: Dorm Life at Brown. I’ll be telling you all about the home away from home! 

Keeney Quad (pictured on the left)

The place I call home. She used to be called Kee-Nasty, but she changed just for me and welcomed me sweetly into her arms. Okay, maybe not. But she did change… for all of us first-years! With the recent renovations to the Keeney Quad (which encompasses Archibald-Bronson, Everett-Poland, and Jameson-Mead), the living conditions have vastly improved from previous years. Even though it’s not as spacious or aesthetically appealing as some of the dorms in Pembroke, it is remarkably cozy. I haven’t had any issues with living here, except for maybe the occasional noise that comes from outside (it tends to get pretty loud every once in a while since there are so many people).

What I really like about Keeney is that it’s placed in such a convenient location. If I want to eat, the Ratty and Ivy Room are a few steps away, and other eateries (like the Blue Room or Jo’s) are not too far of a walk. If I need to go to the library, the Rock is also fairly close. Health Services is right down the street. And since Keeney is close to the main campus, I can afford to sleep in a little more for my 9 a.m. classes. What’s also nice is that the walk to downtown Providence isn’t too bad from Keeney.

So convenience and coziness? Keeney, ftw.

If you have any questions, comments, or suggestions for future posts, please feel free to email either Brianna or Chelsea at brianna_lambert@brown.edu or bao-han_phan@brown.edu.

Leave a Reply

