A Fresh View: The Housing Lottery

Lottery

Hello, Brown hopefuls! My name is Kimberly Truong and I am the awkward (but utterly thrilled) first-year behind A Fresh View. With that big question mark hovering over where you’ll be spending the next four years of your life, rest assured that this freshman will tell you her experience as she stumbles through the wonderful world of Brown.

The freshman housing process can instill fear and excitement. Going in as a first-year, I couldn’t choose who to live with—I had to go through the dreaded lottery. My roommate and I didn’t exactly hit it off in the beginning, but we still manage to live together to this day. And yet, I have to go through the lottery again!

A couple of days ago, Residential Life informed me that the Housing Lottery will be done on an online interface. Since I didn’t rush to any sorority nor apply for any special housing, I guess I will be following this dreadful tradition once more.

But the email makes it seem like such a complicated, long-winded process. I have a group of friends I’m planning to live with, but we need a group leader? And if this is going to be done online, there will “video tutorials and screenshots” to guide us along the way… is it that hard to navigate? I thought we are the millennial generation.

Brown sure knows how to hype up its tradition while adapting to 21st century changes.

Any questions or suggestions for my next post? Please send them my way at kimberly_truong@brown.edu. I’m happy to answer and heed to all of them!

Leave a Reply

