He, She, and Phe: Dorm Life at Brown: Roommates

IMG_0579

Dorm life: two words that inspire excitement and fear in the hearts of many incoming freshman. I’m Brianna Lambert, a first year student and the she behind He, She and Phe: Dorm Life at Brown. In this column I’ll share all of the good, bad, funny, and painfully awkward things that come along with living in a dorm.

The most terrifying part of moving into a dorm, or at least in my opinion is having a roommate. As I’ve said before, I’m an only child and have never had to share a room. I had no clue how to share a space with someone else all day, everyday. Also, at Brown you can’t choose who you’re going to live with your first year, so you get someone completely random. I was scared of getting the crazy roommate – or even worse, being the crazy roommate.

Luckily, ResLife did a pretty good job at matching my roommate and me (despite the paltry questionnaire I did the summer before my first semester). After I first got her name and subsequently stalked her Facebook page I didn’t think we’d be that great of friends. Cordial and polite yes. BBFLs no. To my surprise, I can now say that we are really good friends. We watch movies together, explore Providence, and generally just are weird with each other. I honestly couldn’t have asked for a better roommate for my first year.

Not all roommate relationships are the same, however. Here’s a rudimentary list of relationships that I’ve observed so far:

The Besties: These two hit it off immediately and hang out all the time.  What’s better than living with your best friend right?

The Good Friends: A little less intense than the besties, but still like to hang out with each other a lot.

The Acquaintances: These roommates aren’t really friends, but they are cordial with one another.

The Never Talk To Each Other: They might say hello to one another but that’s pretty much it.

The Basically Has a Single: One party usually sleeps somewhere else or is so busy that phe is never in the room. The other party usually has the room all to themselves.

The Don’t Like Each Other: The other extreme of roommate relationships. These two have a lot of issues with each other. Sometimes it ends up with one person moving out, but this doesn’t happen all that often.

Honestly, no matter how much you talk to your roommate through email or Facebook you won’t really know what relationship you’ll have with them until you get to school.  Even then, the honeymoon phase is real and relationships change all the time. No matter what kind of relationship you and your relationship have, just live for the experience.

Questions? Comments? Concerns? Suggestions for my next post? Shoot me an email at brianna_lambert@brown.edu and I’ll answer all the nitty gritty.

Leave a Reply

