A Fresh View: Kicking off Second Semester

Spring Schedule

Hello, Brown hopefuls! My name is Kimberly Truong and I am the awkward (but utterly thrilled) first-year behind A Fresh View. With that big question mark hovering over where you’ll be spending the next four years of your life, rest assured that this freshman will tell you her experience as she stumbles through the wonderful world of Brown.

In my previous post, I briefly talked about my first semester as being a period of “adjustment and unrealistic expectations.” A lot of pressure is riding on me to do well this semester.

Second semester, you are expected to dive into working. As you can see in the picture above, for this coming week, I prepared a detailed schedule of the times to do class assignments, usually proportional to the hours I spend in class (roughly following the rule of thumb of 2-3 hours of work outside class per hour of class time).

Although I’m a little warped by my schedule (some days I have class bright and early at 8:30 am; other days, my first class is at noon or 2:30 pm) and I prefer frontloading all my classes like last semester, I’m willing to go through the hurdles of careful planning and adjusting homework and sleep schedules around my class schedule because I like all my classes so far.

College forces you to quickly adapt to new, sudden changes. Last week might have killed me in terms of throwing me off my usual course, but I can’t be broken!

Any questions or suggestions for my next post? Please send them my way at kimberly_truong@brown.edu. I’m happy to answer and heed to all of them!

Leave a Reply

