Stage Write: Brown Motion Pictures

Image

Hi! My name is Carrie Adams, and I’m a freshman here at Brown. On my column, Stage Write, I will be filling you in about all the drama at Brown (no, not who sat with whom at the Ratty, but actual glorious theater!). Each week I’ll be highlighting different theatre groups on campus and shows that are being performed. All of Brown’s a stage!

Hey guys! I hope you had a great break. I watched a lot of Netflix and spent a lot more time in bed than I should have. Yay winter!! This semester, I am determined to do more than just REPORT on shows and instead participate in them. Thus, I’ve had a very busy weekend. In addition to a chorus concert today and an audition for Medea with Production Workshop on Friday, I had an audition for Brown Motion Pictures. BMP creates short student-directed, student-written, student-produced films every semester, and at the beginning of each semester they hold auditions open to all students. For more info, check out their website or Facebook page.

I auditioned for BMPlast semester, so I went into today’s audition knowing what to expect. BMP auditions are different from theater auditions because the writers and directors for all five films are in the audition room with you in addition to various BMP staff members. You choose two sides (they can be from the same movie but it’s probably a better idea to choose two sides from different films) and read them. In the fall, there was a video camera set up and they were recording auditions, but today I didn’t see a camera, which made it less stressful (at least for me). Luckily, I got a callback for one of the films! So keep your fingers crossed for me (hey, it will be good for you too if I get the part because then I’ll have even more inside scoop for you!). I also am auditioning for Camelot produced by Brown University Gilbert and Sullivan (who put on Iolanthe this fall) on Tuesday, and I will fill you in on the results of all of this next Sunday!

Questions? Comments? Want to Skype and practice monologues together? Not sure if that last one is actually possible, but for the other two, feel free to email me at Carrie_Adams@Brown.edu!

Leave a Reply

