A Fresh View: College New Year’s Resolutions

IMG_0275
Look guys, I have friends.

With just one final standing between me and break, it’s a comforting thought that in a week, I will be at home, eating ice cream from the box, watching all the movies I’ve been missing, or the books I’ve meant to read. But it’s also a scary thought that I am 50% done with my first year. I know I still have a semester left; it will be easier to get back into the swing of things; and some faces will be familiar.

But since the first semester of college is a prime learning experience, I’ve taken some time to reflect on this semester (these pensive posts, lately…I became more mature by turning 18 today btw) and make new year’s resolutions for the next semester which I would like to share:

  • Eat healthy. Cook more. – From watching one of my friends cook for himself every day, I find it vicariously rewarding that he is prioritizing and taking care of his own needs. While academics remains important, college is a balancing act between being a good student and a good (healthy) person.
  • Commit to another student club/activity. – This semester, I’ve only managed to keep up (somewhat badly) with writing for this blog, but I’m also interested in becoming more involved with another publication or student group.
  • Stay open-minded. – I think I say this many times, but I can’t help how true this holds. I’ve encountered many people with different political and religious beliefs and from different ethnic and racial backgrounds. I’ve had a couple of powerful moments that changed who I am, to say the least. I am grateful for those moments, even the painful ones.
  • Enjoy it while it lasts. ­– Appreciate every moment. College goes by too fast. I can’t believe I’m sitting here, writing my last post of the semester for you guys.

Happy holidays!

P.S. I also might get inordinately bored during my winter break so response rates for emails will increase tenfold. Please ask me questions. (I said please, right?)

Any questions or suggestions for my next post? Please send them my way at kimberly_truong@brown.edu. I’m happy to answer and heed to all of them!

Leave a Reply

