Hungry as a Bear: Holiday Food

thanksgiving

Be honest.  One of the things that scares you the most about going to college is not knowing what the food is like.  If you are worried about what you will be eating on campus once you arrive at Brown, look no further than Hungry As a Bear with Megan Kelly

Thanksgiving is a time for family, friends, relaxing, de-stressing, and, of course, eating. Many students head home or at least off campus for the holiday, and I was lucky enough to be one of them. For the students that stay in the land of Brunonia for the long weekend, Brown does a great job in providing as much of a Thanksgiving feel as they can. The main dining hall served a Thanksgiving spread this year, and many student groups on campus hosted meals and parties. From the students I’ve talked to, Thanksgiving at Brown was an interesting way to meet people you’d never interact with otherwise and to enjoy some delicious (if not exactly home-cooked) meals.

My Thanksgiving plans consisted of a weekend in New York City and the best Thanksgiving spread I’ve ever seen. I spent the day at a family friend’s home with my brother and about thirty other basically-family members. There were hor d’oeuvres, the best artichoke dip I’ve ever tasted, crackers, fruit, vegetables, and almost every other snack food you can imagine all day. The main event came later that night with the huge buffet spread, complete with turkey, stuffing, prime rib, casseroles, mashed potatoes, sweet potatoes, you name it! Of course we can’t forget that were were also celebrating the first night of Hanukkah (complete with a Menurkey-a very creative menorah-turkey hybrid) so in addition to the typical Thanksgiving spread we had so many delicious latkes. Needless to say, I left about ten pounds heavier.

I loved taking a break from campus, seeing my brother, exploring the city, and eating food that didn’t come from a dining hall. But let me just tell you how hard it is to be satisfied with the food here anymore. Don’t get me wrong, the food here is just as good as ever, they have just as many varieties as ever, my favorite cereal is still on the side bar, and the muffins are still delightful warm and fresh in the Blue Room, but every time I think about food, I remember Thanksgiving and then I start daydreaming of the delicious home cooked meal that will welcome me home in (gasp!) twelve days! It’s hard to believe the semester’s already so close to being over. Fair warning: you will listen to everyone in the world tell you how fast it goes by, to make the most of it, make every day count, but you really have to hear it. I thought I knew exactly how fast it would feel (I’m still trying to convince myself senior year in high school actually ever happened), but I have no idea where the time went! I’m excited (and very scared) to say that one-eighth of my time here at Brown has almost passed.

The morals of the story are:

Thanksgiving is amazing-remember to actually spend time with your family over the holiday season. It’s easy to take them for granted when they’re always around.

The food at Brown is good (much better than many campuses I’ve visited), but sometimes you just really need that home cooked meal. Lucky for you, the kitchens here are well-equipped for your culinary needs. Also, make sure you pack or buy a pan and a bowl-I still make my cake batter in a water pitcher.

Make every single day matter. Eat a good meal. Meet a new person. Write a story. Draw a picture. Volunteer. Read a book. Watch the news. Do something with your time that makes you happy and expands your horizons just a little more.

Last, but not least, be really nice to your family now and have them send you care packages with delicious baked goods from home.

If you have any questions about this blog or a question to be addressed in the next blog, feel free to email me at megan_e_kelly@brown.edu!

 

Leave a Reply

