Brown Threads: Winter Accessories

DSC_1624

Ever wonder what college students wear to survive the temperamental New England weather in style? Not sure what to pack for college? Curious about the trends fashionable Brown students are trying out each season? Look no further! Brown Threads with Caitlin Meuser will feature weekly posts about the fashion seen on Brown University’s campus.

Every time I step out of my dorm in the morning and rush off to class, I’m reminded of how necessary gloves, hats, and scarves really are. In my morning haste, I usually forget one or all of these essential accessories. This results in wind-swept hair (not the attractive kind), a cold forehead and neck, and numb, red fingers. I promise myself that next time I will remember my chunky circle scarf, that tomorrow I will put on a hat and not leave my gloves on my desk, but this day has yet to come. Never mind my ramblings. What I’m trying to say is that winter accessories are a must come winter in Providence. Here are some suggestions for cute and warm additions to your wardrobe:

The Do’s:

Chunky scarves: When it comes to scarf, I am of the belief that bigger is always better. There is nothing better than wrapping a large wool scarf several times around your neck. Sure it may look like your head is floating on a sea of wool, but I assure you it’s not as ugly as it sounds. Over sized scarves are actually really popular on campus and can help elevate the style of any drab winter coat, especially if the scarf is covered in polka dots like mine!

Beanies: Now these hats have been around forever, but they’re a standard that never gets old. They provide warmth as well as a light edge to any outfit. You can match the color beanie with your scarf, or you can mix and match to add some personality. Just make sure to pull the beanie down far enough so that you’re ears are properly covered!

Mittens: These guys are definitely not just for little kids. Mittens are fantastic. Why? Because mittens keep your fingers 10 times warmer than gloves do. Alright, I realize this isn’t an exact statistic, but mittens really do keep your fingers warmer. Trust me on this one.

The Don’ts:

Fingerless gloves: I have never understood the appeal of these gloves. You’re fingers will get red and numb and dry. They will hurt. They won’t be able to pick up a pencil or send a text for hours after your outside venture. Just don’t do it. Avoid these gloves like the plague.

Baseball hats: Personally I am a big fan of baseball hats, especially the wool ones that are popular right now for women. However, these hats just are not going to keep you warm enough. The golden rule when it comes to hats to getting one that covers your ears. If your ears aren’t covered, you’re not going to have a good time outside.

Fashion scarves: Again, I’m a big fan. However, these scarves provide no warmth. None. Nothing whatsoever.

So please, stock your wardrobe with these warm options so that don’t freeze like me when you leave in the morning for class.

If you have any questions about the fashion at Brown or what to pack for life as a college student, please email me at caitlin_meuser@brown.edu.

 

Leave a Reply

