On The Brown Low: Prospect Park

tumblr_mnl9hd24AR1qc5bm6o1_1280

Wondering what Providence has to offer? Curious as to where to find the best off-campus entertainment? Well, lucky for you, On The Brown Low, will give you just that! Isabelle Edwards, a native Rhode Islander, will show you the best spots to grab a bite to eat, find fun activities, or just kick around! Stay tuned!

During the school year, especially when I’m feeling exhausted, stressed, and overworked, I like to get off campus and go for a walk. Exercise is proven to be a great stress-reliever, as it releases endorphins and helps you to blow off all of that built-up steam.

One of my favorite places to walk to is Prospect Park, located on Congdon street, a mere 5-minute walk from the Main Green. I definitely plan my walking routes so that I am sure to pass by, or through, the park. Not only are there great benches to rest on, plenty of friendly people around — I can’t tell you the number of times I’ve seen people playing their guitars, hanging out, or slacklining there — but the view that you get overlooking downtown is, well, perfect.

I’d suggest that you visit Prospect Park when WaterFire is going on, as it’s super cool to see all of downtown Providence lit up, alive, and buzzing!

A couple of evening’s ago, I walked to Prospect Park and got this shot of the sun setting. Beautiful, right?

Until next time!

Is there something I haven’t covered? Heard of a cool place in Rhode Island but haven’t seen a post about it yet? Email me your suggestions and questions at Isabelle_Edwards@brown.edu!

* All images © 2012-2013 Isabelle Edwards. Please request permission before use.

Leave a Reply

