The Extras: Sitting Together

Mindful2.img_assist_custom-470x298

With 400 plus student groups and tons of events daily, how does a Brown student navigate life outside of the lecture hall? I’m Lily Hartmann, and I am the freshmen behind “The Extras”; the blog that aims to give you a glimpse into the most exciting and noteworthy activities on campus. Throughout the year this blog will give you snapshots of what Brunonians do when they aren’t hitting the books on College Hill!

So no matter if you are in high school or college, stress is something everyone experiences. Whether it’s finishing your college applications or balancing a heavy workload with the demands of orchestra rehearsal and a concert this week, we all have those busy weeks where we feel like we won’t be able to get everything done. But here at Brown University there is a group on campus to help you escape everyday worries, and refocus your life for the week.

The Brown Meditation Community is a campus-wide, non-denominational group of students and faculty who support each other’s meditation practice through daily sits, retreats, potlucks, and social events. They are not associated with any particular style of meditation, and so they are open to any and all meditators. The BMC has sits everyday at varying times, but no means is it an everyday commitment. If you want to meditate once a week, that is totally fine. This community is an open source of support, where you can come to meditate or let go of the week’s stresses whenever you feel like it. And don’t be afraid if you have never meditated before. The Wednesday afternoon sits are specifically directed towards beginners who may want to come and meditate for the first time. They also have different potlucks, and get togethers to foster the Brown Meditation Community.

So I have actually attended a few sits through the Brown Meditation Community, and I found them really helpful. I went in a complete beginner, and really unsure if I even wanted to go. My friend is Buddhist and has grown up meditating, so he asked me to start going to sits with him. I’m not gonna lie. The first couple times were a bit challenging as I struggled to keep my mind from wandering or thinking about all the things I had to do. But when the sits had ended, I felt less stressed and better focused on my life. I would definitely encourage anyone who currently meditates to keep it up if you end up at Brown. And for those who are foreign to the practice of meditation, don’t be afraid and give it try! You could find something that really works for you and could help you get through the most stressful of weeks.

Have questions about a specific student group or event on campus? Want me to cover a specific topic in my next post? Feel free to shoot me an email at lily_hartmann@brown.edu with any of your questions and comments

Leave a Reply

